The District 5840 Nominating Committee is now accepting completed application forms for Governor of District 5840 for the Rotary Year 2016-2017. Application deadline is October 1, 2013.

All suggestions must be submitted on the Club Suggestion for District Governor Form and Governor-nominee Data Form which can be downloaded from the District website. Both forms are available in "Download Files" on the right side of the Home Page.

Please note that suggestions must be approved by the club’s Board of Directors. Fully completed application forms accompanied by a recent digital photograph should be submitted via email to:

or mailed to:

Sherri C Muniz, PDG

Chair, District 5840 Nominating Committee

5602 US Hwy 87 E #2

San Antono, TX 78222


Qualifications for District Governor are prescribed by the Rotary International Manual of Procedure. In summary, the RI Manual of Procedure stipulates that at the time of selection a governor-designate must:

·         Be a member in good standing of a functioning club in the district

·         Have served as president of a club for a full term, or as president of a charter club from the date of the charter to 30 June, for a period of at least six months

·         Demonstrate knowledge of and the ability to fulfill the duties outlined in the RI Bylaws, section 15.090

·         Have completed seven years of membership at the time of taking office  

·         Demonstrate knowledge of  the qualifications, duties and responsibilities of governor and demonstrate willingness, commitment and ability to fulfill those duties and responsibilities faithfully


RI bylaws stipulate additional requirements for governor in section 15.070. Please consult the Manual of Procedure for these details.  It can be accessed at


Your attention is especially directed to Rules for Candidates for Elective Offices (page 60 of the Manual of Procedure).


Interviews will be held on Saturday, October 19th.  Candidates will be notified of the time and place for their interview.


Please feel free to communicate any questions to DG Jerry Hardy or to PDG Sherri Muniz. Thank you in advance for your thoughtful participation in this very important procedure for selecting our

District Governor. Thank you also to the following Rotarians for their Service Above Self in agreeing

to serve on the District Nominating Committee: PDG Lisa Herring, President Kevin Behr of Beeville, President Crawford Guthrie of Fredericksburg, and President Craig Hardy of San Antonio North Central, as well as Alternates President Melissa Sadler-Nitu of Seguin, President James Wade of Fair Oaks Ranch,  and President Leslie Wynn of Kenedy.