Five Winston School San Antonio Interact Club students received the President's Volunteer Service Award on Aug. 30, 2011, from Rotarian Dr. Yvonne Soliz-Valdez. Minerva Abrego-Sanchez, representing Texas Senator Leticia Van de Putte, read a letter and presented certificates of congratulations to each student.


Cory Weinberg received a gold award and Lauren Rosnack, T. J. Gold, Lisa Luna and Marcos Kauffman received bronze awards.


 Pictured with the Winston Interact Club are (back row from left) Past Centennial District Governor John Peterson, Boerne Sunrise Rotary Club President Charlie Wetherbee, Rotary Ambassadorial Scholar from Lebanon, Lamis Lamareddine. Back row right: Rotary Executive Assistant District Governor Dr. Yvonne Soliz-Valdez, Rotary District Governor Elect Lisa Herring, and Professor/Interact Club Sponsor, Mike Canales. 


Charles Karulak, Winston School Headmaster, said "These awards emphasize how our students are learning to be contributing members of the San Antonio community. By volunteering for service projects, they address local and international problems with human and financial resources."


Winston School Spanish teacher and Interact Club sponsor Mike Canales added, "Our Interact Club logged over 3,000 community service hours and collected over $7,000 in cash and in-kind donations for non-profit agencies and organizations last school year. This is an increase of service hours and funds raised compared to the prior year." Due to their efforts, the students have created new partnerships with non-profits such as Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International, Family Service Association, Special Olympics Texas and others.